The Broken Christmas

The Broken Christmas

The Broken Christmas

The streets are all glistening,
with magical little lights.
I remember how I used to get excited,
back when I was just a mite.

I remember all the smiles,
as the presents were unveiled.
Each gift given with love,
like a love letter yet to be mailed.

Christmas was a magical time,
when hate and fear would disappear.
Full of good intentions,
for the few weeks that end the year.

The streets they are so busy!
I got lost within the crowd.
My coat does not keep me warm,
sometimes it feels just like a shroud.

I do like all the bright colours
and all the happy sounds.
As the Salvation Army play carols,
some people gather round.

I feel like an outsider,
amongst the hectic crowd.
As they try to buy some last minute presents
and do their families proud.

Above the sky it darkens.
The shops begin to close.
The street once again is veiled in silence.
I no longer feel exposed!

I approach my usual spot.
The snow, it begins to fall.
I hope tonight I can keep warm,
I feel so very small.

My toes they feel so numb,
as I start to awake.
As the snow falls faster.
My body…involuntary it shakes.

I was in Afghanistan,
For this country…….well I fought.
Lots of my comrades died there
and by their country are now forgot.

I could not come to terms with this,
and just carry on with life.
Through this I became depressed,
my heart has just been knifed.

I have drove my family away,
with my depression and these moods.
Now even in the magic of Christmas,
I struggle to see some good.

Christmas is not a happy time,
for everyone you see.
There are people who have no-one,
or people on the street just like me.

I hope you all enjoy your Christmas
and appreciate in life your lot.
Have a wonderful day
and don’t give me a second thought.

I see someone approaching,
with a blanket and some tea.
The tears flow to see such kindness,
being directed straight at me.

Maybe in the future,
a loved one you’ve forgot.
Will be helped by the Salvation Army,
because someone gave them a second thought.

The Salvation Army do an excellent job,
it helps people just like me.
I hope you will show them kindness.
For the future is impossible to see

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Broken Christmas

  1. directorb says:

    Wow, great post, and great reminder of the need to look beyond ourselves.

    • jerri42 says:

      Thank you. I am not a member of the salvation army but i do donate stuff to them every year. This is the time of year to show some love, kindness and compassion to our fellow man

Leave a Reply

