A Parent’s Letter

A Parent's Letter

A Parents Letter

Please forgive me, if I wasn’t there.
Please forgive me, if you think I didn’t care.

Please forgive me, if I wasn’t always home.
Please forgive me, if you felt alone.

Please for give me, if sometimes in life you struggled.
Please forgive me, for every obstacle….every hurdle.

When you thought I wasn’t there.
When you thought I didn’t care.
I was standing there giving you protection,
Waiting to guide you …… give you direction.

When you say you were alone.
When you say I wasn’t home.
I was working hard to give you choices,
so in this world you aren’t voiceless.

You clothes! Your home! Your education!
All the things that were just there.
All provided by your parents.
Was this because they do not care?

A parents job is never easy
It is often hard to try and please you.
We are not there to be your friend
but we will be there till the very end.

When you think you can’t go on.
We will be standing there to keep you strong.
In the shadows we will remain
Always to give without gain.

When you think that life’s been hard
On every birthday did you get a card?
Did you ever go without food?
Was there ever a Christmas that wasn’t good.

Before you bad mouth about your parents
because you think they’re old and ancient.
Take a good look at all they’ve done,
to help your grow and be someone.

Written by Jerri42
Β©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Parent’s Letter

  1. Cubby says:

    Ah, so true. Parents do so much for their children to help them succeed in life…at least the good ones do. Terrific poem, Jerri!

  2. Thanks for this. I know I used to think of my parents in a negative light. However, having children really changed how I look at my parents. Especially since I now find myself being gone a lot and working to provide for them.

    • jerri42 says:

      I am glad you got something from it. I don’t have my mum now she passes several years ago but i loved her very much as you can tell with some of the poems I wrote about her. The thing is i think I didn’t appreciate her enough when she was here and now I can’t. So if you still have your parents appreciate and validate everything they have done for you when their here. I am sure your kids will understand all that you are doing for them x

  3. This is lovely. We spoke briefly, you and I, about our mums. I hadn’t realised initially that your mum had passed. Like so many of us I believe there is always a sense of wishing we had done more. And yet I know that she knew how much she was loved. This speaks to me as the daughter and now as the mother. Too easy to forget. The time is always now to show love. Beautiful. She would be very proud of your insights and understanding.x

    • jerri42 says:

      Thankyou, I really appreciate you taking the time to read some of my poems and it great you can relate. I too have 3 teenagers well i says teenagers. They are 21, 18 and 15 and I also like you can see this from both sides

      • God, I thought you were a wee lassie! lol Well, what I mean is you don’t look as if you could have 3 kids let alone three grown ups! They’re keeping you young. πŸ™‚
        It is great to be able to see the picture from both sides now. I feel obliged to let mine know to appreciate me. πŸ˜‰ I don’t want them having any regrets. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.x

      • jerri42 says:

        I have dyslexia and so my work isn’t always grammatically correct. When i started the blog i decided to leave it as is. In the hope people can see anyone can have a go at writing, it does not have to be a chore. People have been kind about it on the whole but i do know if i decide to do anything with my poems i will have to get them edited. So i understand with my grammar you thought i might be younger

      • I was talking about your picture! When your pic first appeared in my comments I thought you must be in your twenties, about my eldest daughter’s age. That’s why I thought you were ‘a wee lassie’. How you could have a child about the same age you look surprised me.
        There’s nothing wrong with your writing. I noticed you made a comment to someone about errors and leaving them in so that others would see that dyslexia is no barrier to writing. In that piece I think I noticed one.
        As a teacher I deal with dyslexia fairly often and the degrees of it are quite wide and varied. My own nephew has quite a severe case which does incapacitate both his literacy and numeracy. But he is receiving help. Its greatest drawback for him is in the severe knock it has given his confidence. Other children and adults can be cruel.
        I’m so sorry you thought that was what I was referring to. I would never say such a thing. Not only because it would be rude and cruel in the extreme but because it would be untrue.
        Your writing is fresh and full of insight.
        I should have referred to your picture.
        Please have confidence in your work. I wouldn’t lie about it.
        And then have a look in the mirror. πŸ™‚ You look as if you’re in your twenties. My apologies again for not being clear enough and causing you hurt in believing that I was referring to your writing. I must, in future, read over my comments to make sure they are clear.x

      • jerri42 says:

        I am sorry, i never thought you meant to insult at all. I am so direct and honest it comes across aggressive at times i think but i’m anything but lol. I type my words back to front like smae is same but i correct those errors but the grammar errors can be a little harder for me. I am 42 so not that young, thanks for the compliment though. Don;t worry about offending me, i’m not easily offended but i do have a bad habit of constantly explaining myself

      • You sound a bit like me. πŸ˜‰ I’m too honest for my own good at times. It takes people aback. But I would never be deliberately cruel.
        You do look incredibly young. I’ll have whatever you’re on. πŸ™‚
        Grammar is a bugger for everyone. My biggest thing as a teacher though is getting children to love writing first without focus on spelling and grammar. Otherwise they give up before they start and it’s just a hardship for them.
        The grammar and spelling I keep as separate lessons where that is the focus. Dyslexia is a difficult thing to deal with but, you are absolutely right in saying it is no barrier to writing. Write first. Always.
        The ideas are what matter.
        I’m glad we talked about this. It should encourage anyone who is hesitant about allowing perceived barriers to stop them from doing something they love.
        You said, in a previous comment, that writing was like opening a window to your soul. Nothing should ever get in the way of that. (Including weans!) :)x

      • Enlarged your gravatar pic just to make sure my eyes don’t need retested. Yeah, deffo in your twenties. So what magic potion is it you’re on? :)x

      • jerri42 says:

        Thank you. I wish lol

Leave a Reply

