The Monsters Under My Bed

The Monsters Under My Bed

Monsters Under My Bed

As I lay down they’re under my bed.
Or am I wrong are they in the wardrobe instead.

They can be in both places, in groups they all come.
In the middle of the night just to rattle my drum.

I close my eyes tight and think of nice things.
I think of Christmas and Santa Clause…the presents he brings.

This does not help, the silence is deafening.
The silence and darkness then become threatening.

I open my eyes and look round about.
I hear someone scream and let out a shout.

I look round my room.
Who can that be?
I seen no-one else.
Then I realise it’s me.

My mum she enters and puts my light on.
She checks under my bed……the monsters have gone.

She leaves my light on for the rest of the night.
So they do not come back and give me a fright.

Are the monsters real or just in my head.
As they only scare me when I lay in my bed.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Monsters Under My Bed

  1. Cubby says:

    Love the poem and picture! This would be so perfect to read to a child at bedtime…minus the last two lines maybe…hehe. 🙂

  2. inbetweenthemadness says:

    enjoyed this and the break from couplets to a change in rhyming pattern worked really well. Now following and look forward to reading more.

    • jerri42 says:

      I am so glad, today’s poem will be a child friendly one too but i have the hospital today so it will be posted a little later. Please read some of my other stuff and tell me what you think. I would appreciate your feedback

      • inbetweenthemadness says:

        I will have a read this evening (maybe earlier if i get too bored at work lol). Thanks for the follow back.

      • jerri42 says:

        Your welcome your poetry is really good. I have a lot of poems on mental health, depression, bullying etc, so you might find some you like. The Familiar Stranger was about depression although i know a lot of my readers interpreted it different

      • inbetweenthemadness says:

        Thank you very much, thats very kind…
        I will look forward to reading through, and may have a cheeky peek at that one now.

  3. Reblogged this on Not So Fabulous Teen and commented:
    I saw this and was like girl you are so right!

Leave a Reply

