It’ s All Politics

It' s All Politics

 

This was written pre-olympics but I thought i would share it. I do try not to do politics as it’s a touchy subject for some as it affects us all and can become very personal. These are just my views on it I don’t expect you all to agree with them. I just feel the money was needed more elsewhere.

It’s All Politics

The world around me is changing
and not all of it is good.
Some of us are wasteful,
others don’t have food.

We are to interested in material things,
what we have and what we own.
The latest 3D TV,
or even mobile phone.

The country is now struggling.
We are in a recession and making cuts,
to essential front line services.
They say to get us out the rut.

I’m finding this hard to understand.
I am sure some others feel the same.
If we have to little money,
why host the Olympic Games?

It devours vast amounts of money,
which they say we have not got.
So why accommodate its greed,
while the people are left to rot.

Our pensioners work longer.
Our disabled become housebound.
While we plough money into the Olympics,
they say their policies are sound.

This government are more worried about what other countries,
think about what they do or say.
Instead of worry about it’s people,
in this the present day.

All countries have their problems,
in comparison ours are not that bad.
There are children dying of curable illness
and that is really sad.

Some governments choose to spend,
on weapons and defence.
We have enough to destroy the earth.
The hatred is intense.

Its becoming a dictatorship.
They tell you not to smoke or drink.
With the illusion of freedom,
while telling us what to do and think.

I say I don’t like politics,
but if effects everyone each and every day.
If you want to see a change,
Vote and have your say.

I really don’t like politics,
I think politicians are all corrupt.
Now that I have had my rant,
I think I’ll just shut up.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’ s All Politics

  1. i really like this sis 🙂 x

  2. Cubby says:

    I laughed at the last verse, but the rest of your poem was quite sobering. I agree with everything you say about politics, and you express yourself very well in your poem. Loved it. 🙂

    • jerri42 says:

      Thank you Cubby, i was on a bit of a rant when i wrote it. We have families in poverty here. We are cutting money to vital services. The thing is it’s our taxes that are paying for it. Well i know where i would rather my money went. I think the poor, schools and hospital are a more important investment

Leave a Reply

