The Family Gathering

The Family Gathering

The Family Gathering

My family are scattered round the globe,
so visits are very rare.
Our love for one another,
is something special we all share.

My brother organised a place,
were we can all be together.
As it is a very large family,
who like to have a blether.

My sisters are very beautiful,
both on the inside and the out.
It really is a shame,
that their not always roundabout.

Everyone is drinking
and laughter fills the room.
I am getting rather tired
and will have to leave quite soon.

The kids are all so wonderful.
Although lots have grown up now.
To have them in my family,
makes me rather proud.

Not all the kids could be there.
Life gets in the way.
They were truly missed,
on the family gathering day.

Time went by so quickly.
I wish we had lots more.
Seeing them was lovely.
All of them I do adore.

If it’s true what they say
and loved ones are watching over us
I know my mum would be very proud
and sending us her love.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

Glossary:- Blether means to have a chin wag, or a good natter.

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Family Gathering

  1. Cubby says:

    I’m glad you defined blether at the end as it saved me the trouble of looking it up. It sounds like you have such a lovely family, and your beautiful poem is a wonderful testament of that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

