Invisable Illness

Invisable Illness

This poem is about my personal struggle. There are many forms of Invisible Illness from mental health issues to chronic internal pain. I have blood work to verify my condition. I have CKD(Chronic Kidney Disease) stage 4. This came about as the result as another illness. So now I have lots of different things going on but to look at me or talk to me you would never guess. I have experienced people saying everyone gets tired or you don’t look sick. I am lucky as i have a very supportive family and feel more blessed than burdened. People with invisible illness don’t expect you to understand they just ask you not to pass judgement. You don’t know what someone else is going through so please be kind to one another.

Invisible Illness

You can’t be ill,
you look ok!
You can’t be ill,
that’s what they say.

Kidney disease!
No signs it displays.
It makes me tired,
and sleep all day.

Creatinine is high.
Function is low,
but every day,
I try and go with the flow.

Invisible illnesses,
there are loads not a few.
Fibromyalgia , Lupus
and Bi-Polar too.

We may not have stoma’s,
or lost a limb here or there.
The pain is just as real,
so try and show some more care.

What sort of world do we live in?
People think your out to deceive.
I’d rather live in a world,
where we trust and believe.

Some people make judgements,
What can I say.
They can’t see past their own nose,
and will be judged themselves one day.

Not all illness is visible,
to the naked eye.
It’s an invisible illness.
We let out a sigh!

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

P.S. Invisible Illness is not invisible to the person living with it day and day out

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Invisable Illness

  1. Cubby says:

    It is sad that people are so quick to judge without understanding or without wanting to truly understand. As you beautifully stated in your poem, they “will be judged themselves one day”.

  2. inbetweenthemadness says:

    beautiful. So true.
    Hope you are doing alright with your condition and you and your family all stay strong and support each other.

Leave a Reply

