Changing Attitudes In Education

Changing Attitudes In Education

Changing Attitudes In Education

I am 10 years old
I don’t want to go to class
My words are back to front
I feel just like an ass

The teacher thinks I’m at it.
She calls me the class clown
I’m trying my very hardest
I’m really feeling down

She puts me in the cupboard
to finish of my work.
She will forget about me for a while
if today I am in luck

I hear my class mates laughing
as the end of the day is near
They’ve finished all their work
They never get sent in here.

The teacher comes to get me
She says, its time for you to go
Maybe tomorrow you’ll try harder
as your working very slow

You see this was the 70’s
When dyslexia did not exist
If you could not keep up
You were classed as just being thick.

I’ve decided to keep my head down
and just do my very best
I hope my teacher notices my effort
and no longer sees me as a pest

I guess I was born in a decade of trouble
When teachers could not deal with kids
that got there words all in a muddle

Things have changed kids now they get help.
They are no longer pests that always get the belt.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing Attitudes In Education

  1. Cubby says:

    So very true. ADHD was also something that wasn’t recognized back then and had similar problems. Great poem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

