The Tory Way

The Tory Way

Image above by Vincent Van Gogh

The Tory Way

I paid in to the system
all of my life.
For a comfortable retirement
for me and my wife.

The years have past quickly
the family moved on
All we have left
are our memories…our home

Then came the day
my life starts to crumble
My wife passed away
through life I now stumble.

My home is now family
a blanket, a friend
At least it will be with me
right to the end.

They say its too big
I have to many rooms
Pay a tax or move out,
and let them know soon.

I am now a nuisance
to society as a whole
A drain on resources
I have grown far to old.

I will pay the tax
I don’t have a choice
as the Tory government
don’t give us old folk a voice.

To pay the tax
I will sit in the cold
While they sit in their mansions
and act ever so bold.

I am glad my wife is gone
and not here to see the day
that for the country that I fought for
no longer gives me a say.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

