The Gift

The Gift

The Gift

God decided to bless me.
An angel was to be the gift.
He filled up my womb,
and my heart he gave a lift.

I have to wait for my Angel,
nine months is what they say.
I can tell you I will love her,
until my dying day.

I am eating for two now.
My angel she starts to grow.
The little bundle inside,
in my tummy starts to show.

Today I get to see you,
in a thing they call a scan.
I am so overwhelmed,
the tears they ran and ran.

I look straight at the monitor.
Your heart………..I see it beat.
Your head! Your arms! Your legs!
Your tiny hands and feet.

We go home all excited,
our cup does overflow.
We make some future plans
and cannot wait to watch you grow.

Today I don’t feel so great,
you dad tells me to go lie down.
He looks a little worried,
on his face there is a frown.

As I take my clothes off,
to get organised for bed.
I take a look down at my pants.
And well……..they were all red.

Your daddy calls the doctor,
He tells us not to worry,
He phone for and ambulance,
and asks them to please hurry.

When we arrive at the hospital,
it already is to late.
A tiny hearts stopped beating,
and God I start to hate.

Why did you take my angel,
I really loved her so.
I do not understand,
why my angel had to go.

The nurses they use medical terms.
To me my angel was taken.
They use words like abortion and termination.
My heart inside is breaking.

I know what has happened.
My Angel she is no more.
It tears the very heart from me,
and rips me to the core.

My angel was a girl.
God he gave then took away.
There is nothing more cruel,
my angel she could not stay.

I could not hold you my angel ;
or look into your eyes,
but every day I think of you
and often you will see me cry.

You may not see this as a gift,
my angel I did not see,
but I carried her inside me
and in my heart she’ll always be

If you have lost an angel ,
in some familiar way.
Just know I feel you heartache,
each and every day.

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Gift

  1. Anonymous says:

    So so touching Jerri, you have amazing talent. 🙂

  2. jerri42 says:

    Reblogged this on Creative Sparks and commented:

    Thought I would reblog this today as some of my new followers won’t have seen it

Leave a Reply

