The Voices Within

The Voices Within

The Voices Within

It’s hard to really concentrate,
amongst this awful noise.
It sounds just like a party,
with lots of girls and boys.

There really is no party.
I sit in my room alone.
I can hear a lot of voices,
and they chill me to the bone.

They all have different characters,
names and personalities too.
The one who is more dominant,
his name is Petigrew.

He bosses me around a lot,
and tells me what to do.
He really, really scares me.
He scares the others too.

The things he wants me to do,
is not like sing a song.
What Petigrew tells me to do,
are things that are oh so wrong.

He wants me to kill myself!
I am so very weak.
My family are all scared for me.
Medical attention is what they seek.

I really am not mad you know;
the voices, they do exist.
They all live inside my head
and must stay, they all insist.

The doctors carry out their tests,
and make a treatment plan.
They said they can make the voices disappear.
I really hope they can.

They say I have schizophrenia.
It’s not that rare at all.
With the right medication,
the voices they can stall.

I sit in my room alone now
I sit here with defiance
the voices have been muted
the sound i hear is silence

I have some kind of life back,
but I know they could return one day.
It’s been a year since I’ve heard them,
The voices have gone away

Written by |Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Voices Within

  1. Lucretia Shrock says:

    This is beautiful!!!! I have recently been to that place, its dark, I never tried anything but I did think about it, things r’nt great, but I know it could be worse. I’m doing better, have decided I have several really good reasons to live, 6 being my 4 brothers, and my parents not to mention my brothers girlfriend I could keep going on but I wont, anyway, thanks for this it truly is beautiful

    • jerri42 says:

      Thank you so much. I am glad you could take something from my words. I am sorry for the dark time you had to endure. Family are a blessing and thank you again, i really appreciate your comments

      • Anonymous says:

        AMAZING!!! Beautiful poem indeed. I have schizophrenia too. Learning to leave and to cope with it. Don’t ever give up. xoxox

      • jerri42 says:

        I don’t have schizophrenia. Not all my poems are about me but about people who surround me although all the emotion is mine. Thank you for your kind words though and i will pass them on to my friend.

  2. Lucretia Shrock says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

