Summers Day

Summers Day

Summers Day

I sit on my lounger
and look at the sky.
I contemplate life
and what’s passed me by

I wonder why wasps
only appear in this season.
They don’t have a purpose
so what is the reason?

I wonder why some flowers
need nurture and love
While others are wild
and only need sun from above

I look at the clouds
and pictures I make
I see a tiger a sheep
and even a snake

I pick some daisy’s
and make a small chain
A necklace, a bracelet
they all look the same

I lite up the barbie
and let it heat up
while I am waiting
I play with my pup

I put on the lamb
the chicken, the pork.
The plates are all ready
we don’t need a fork

The kids gather around
the aromas they smell
“I want a leg!”
I hear one of them yell

They will have to wait
until its cooked through
Other wise they’ll spend
most the night on the loo

The kids are all out
in dresses and shorts
covered in sunscreen
their parents have bought

Sitting back in the lounger
as he sits on the chair
Watching the kids
as they play truth or dare

Its been a nice day
sitting in the sun
drinking some beers
and having some fun.

As this is Scotland
this day I must cherish
As for tomorrow
our summer will have perished

Written by Jerri42
©All right reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summers Day

  1. Rayona says:

    I really enjoyed this. One thing I must disagree with is that wasps ‘don’t have a purpose’, every animal has a purpose, we were just the first to take control of it. Great poem though xx

    • jerri42 says:

      I don;t understand their purpose them what do they contribute. I guess your right though although i don’t understand they probably do have a reason for being here

Leave a Reply

