Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence

Domestic Abuse

He was so handsome
he was so cool
said all the right things
when we were at school

A few years pass
everything’s great
we move in together
feels like fate

He hates me working
and spending time with men
so I give up my job
and put down my pen

He loves me so much
he can’t bare to share me
so I stay at home
he starting to scare me

He come in from work
all worked up and annoyed
I put out his dinner
and conversation I avoid

He doesn’t like his dinner
a punch then a kick
I run to the bathroom
and lock the door quick

He starts to cry
sitting outside the door
I’m covered in bruises
lying on the floor

He said I am sorry
I never meant to hurt you
the thing is he did
and its not something new

I sit on the floor
and I take time to think
I decide to forgive him
and put it down to the drink

A few days pass
he hits me once more
black eyes and cracked ribs
I am really sore

I know its not right
to live in this way
to be told what to do
and what to say

I decide to leave him
he heads of to work
I packed up my things
need to get out of this rut

He comes home early
he catches me….he’s mad
he try s to strangle me
this is so bad

I wake in hospital
I thought I had died
the asked about my bruises
I hear myself lie

I feel so worthless
it must be my fault
I need to stop this
it must come to a halt

A handful of pills
an easy way out
I go to sleep
nobody about

Domestic Violence
is a horrible crime
Domestic Violence
is happening all the time

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Domestic Violence

  1. Pingback: Cold Bathroom Floor (may trigger) | Prayers and Promises

Leave a Reply

