The Familiar Stranger

The Familiar Stranger

The Familiar Stranger

Out of the darkness,
the stranger came.
I couldn’t see his face
and didn’t know his name

He offered his hand
and asked me to dance.
Should I be bold
and just take a chance

My body is shaking
with apprehension and fear
I know it is wrong
I must make that clear

As he moves forward
I take a step back
He comes even closer
The stranger in black

He offers his hand
to me once again
I reach for his hand
I no longer refrain

We dance in the darkness
To the unwritten tune
Under the stars
under the moon.

He starts to retreat
I shout “What’s your name?”
He disappears into the darkness
from which he came

I look all around me
no-one is there
no-one to listen
no-one to care.

He sometimes returns,
when the darkness is here.
Like a familiar stranger,
he fills me with fear

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Familiar Stranger

  1. Rayona says:

    I love this so much 🙂 Great imagery of this mysterious stranger. Great poem x

  2. jerri42 says:

    I am glad you like it. Some of my friends put it to music and made a video for it. It was very haunting and lovely sounding

  3. inbetweenthemadness says:

    wow, the ending honestly gave me chills.
    The rhyme and pacing was flawless and rolled effortlessly.
    Great piece…glad i followed and saw this.

Leave a Reply

