Reflections

Reflections

Reflections

I once was young,
with a spring in my feet.
People would smile,
when me they did meet.

I am older now,
a bit worse for ware.
People don’t smile,
People just stare.

Life has been hard,
with kids and my spouse.
I feel insignificant,
I feel like a mouse.

I often forget things,
things I have done.
People I’ve met,
and days that are now gone.

When you look at me,
What do you see?
Do you see an old lady.
With a far away stare.
Who doesn’t recognise you,
and takes to much care.

Take another look,
look deeper you’ll see.
That flighty young girl,
that wants to break free.

I look in the mirror,
everything changed.
I look really old,
yet feel just the same.

People are strange,
they make me feel wary.
Life had changed,
and often is scary.

Alzheimers they call it,
it’s hard to define.
I feel I’m in prison,
the prison of my mind.

I look in the mirror,
what do I see?
Who is this lady,
staring back at me?

Written by Jerri42
©All rights reserved

About jerri42

I Have filled in some information on the about the writer page. Any suggestions for my website or poems subjects please leave a message and i will consider them all
Image | This entry was posted in Poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections

  1. I liked this a lot. -OM

  2. LD Williams says:

    My father had Parkinsons for the last 6 or 7 years of his life
    so I can easily relate to this Jerri
    i feel he also had this, or deep depression. likely both, they seem to go hand in hand 😦
    very powerfully written, she would be proud of you I’m sure

Leave a Reply

